DUI Defense

DUI Defense Lawyers in Miami, FL

gavel-drink

Were you accused of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Miami-Dade? Do you feel as though you were wrongfully charged? If so, it’s time to retain the legal services of an experienced drunk driving attorney, and we are here to help.

You ONLY have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing to contest the suspension of your drivers license with the DMV.

Miami is a city known for its party atmosphere, and living in a city that never sleeps, it can be easy to get carried away with a few drinks. Unfortunately, the State of Florida takes drunk driving very seriously. Any time a motorist gets behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, they may be charged with DUI – even if the car was not in motion.

A DUI conviction in Miami can mean serious penalties, including expensive fines, mandatory substance abuse treatment, driver’s license revocation, and worst of all, imprisonment. However, a drunk driving conviction can also have lifelong penalties for an individual’s personal life, including job loss and, if severe enough, the revocation of certain civil rights, like voting. The Brody Law Firm, LLC, If you or someone you love has been arrested for drunk driving in South Florida, the time to act is now. There is only a limited amount of time to contest a DUI offense, so it’s important to retain a DUI attorney as quickly as possible.

The Brody Law Firm is a criminal defense law firm that handles alcohol-related charges across South Florida. Our experienced DUI attorneys in Miami understand the laws and will do everything in our power to protect your rights. Our skills and expertise have helped hundreds of motorists surpass their charges and we are ready and waiting to do the same for you. Let us help you beat your DUI and secure the best possible outcome for your case.

The State will attempt to prove a Dui in one of two ways:

1.    You were driving a vehicle and you normal faculties were impaired or

2.    You drove with an unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above

Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Miami, FL

Driving Under the Influence charges are usually incurred when a motorist is operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 percent and above. However, the limit is much less for commercial vehicle drivers and individuals under the legal drinking age of 21. Commercial drivers can be arrested and charged with DUI if their BAC level exceeds 0.04 percent and individuals under 21 years of age can be arrested when their BAC level is at 0.02 percent.

How many prior offenses an individual has committed, their level of intoxication, and whether anyone was injured or killed all affect how they will be sentenced. The penalties for DUI conviction in Miami can be extremely severe. Anyone who has been charged with driving while intoxicated can face a number of punishments, including but not limited to the following:

Expensive fines

  • Refusal to take sobriety test – 1 year license suspension (Can be disputed by filing for a formal review hearing within 10 days of your arrest)

  • 1st DUI – 1 year license suspension

  • Jail – 6 Months Maximum (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • Jail – 9 Months Maximum (BAL above .15)

  • Fine – From $500 to $1,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000 (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  • License – Suspended from 180 Days to 1 Year

  • Hardship Reinstatement – Complete DUI School Prior to Hardship Application

  • Ignition Interlock Device – Up to 6 Months (Hardship Reinstatement BAL above.15)

  • Community Service Fine – $10 for Each Hour of Community Service Required

  • Community Service – 50 Hours

  • Treatment Program May Be Allowed in Lieu of Imprisonment

  • Vehicle Impound – 10 Days

  • 2nd DUI – 18 month license suspension

  • Jail – 9 Months Maximum (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • Jail – 12 Months Maximum (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  • Jail – Mandatory 10 Days (If within 5 years of Previous DUI)

  • Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000 (BAL From .08 to less than .15)

  • Fine – From $2,000 to $4,000 (BAL Above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  • License – Suspended for 5 Years (If within 5 years of previous)

  • License Suspension – Eligible for Hardship Reinstatement after 1 Year

  • Hardship Reinstatement – Complete DUI School

  • Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 1 Year (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 2 Years (BAL above .15)

  • Vehicle Impound – 30 Days (If within 5 years of previous)

  • 3rd DUI – 18 month license suspension

  • Third Degree Felony (If Within 10 Years)

  • Jail – Up to 12 Months

  • Jail – Mandatory 30 Days (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

  • Fine – From $2,000 to $5,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • Fine –$4,000 Minimum (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  • License – Suspended for 10 Years (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

  • License Suspension – Eligible for Hardship Reinstatement after 2 Years

  • Hardship Reinstatement – Complete DUI School

  • Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 2 Years

  • Vehicle Impound – 90 Days (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

  • Varius DUI penalties

  • DUI Diversion Program (“Back on Track” Program if certain requirements are met)

  • Community service

  • Probation

  • Victim Impact Panel

  • Mandatory installment of ignition interlock device

  • Imprisonment

 Even a first time offender can get hit with the maximum penalties for a DUI, which is why having an experienced attorney on the case is critical.

  • 4th DUI – Permanent revocation of driving privileges

  • Third Degree Felony

  • Ignition/Interlock Device – Must comply with Interlock regulations for 2 years

  • Jail – Maximum Penalty 5 years prison time

  • Fine – Minimum $1000 – Maximum $5,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  • License Suspension – Permanent revocation of driving privileges

The Importance of Hiring a Skilled DUI Lawyer

There are many times in which a driver is wrongfully accused of DUI in Miami. Breathalyzer devices often yield inaccurate results and there are also times when an officer charges a motorist on suspicion of intoxication alone. If you have been unlawfully charged with intoxicated driving, our DUI defense lawyers can protect your rights.

Our attorneys will review the circumstances surrounding your arrest, will speak to police and witnesses, and will even deal with the Department of Motor Vehicles directly to help you reinstate your license quickly and smoothly. If we find little or no evidence proving you committed a crime, we won’t rest until your charges are drastically reduced or eliminated completely.

Our criminal defense team is ready to take on your case right now. There is only a limited amount of time to contest a drunk driving charge in Miami, so turn to The Brody Law Firm, LLC today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. Our attorneys are on your side and will do everything possible to help you surpass your DUI charges.